Home > Store > User Friendly Classics: 20th Century
Jun 14, 2024 12:33:07 PM
User Friendly Classics: 20th Century [Tape]
View Cart
  • Price:  $14.95 $2.25 (85% Off)
  • Tape (2 Audio Cassettes)
  • Year Released: 1992
  • Content: Music and Lecture
  • Only Available at MichaelBallam.com

Enter the 20th Century as renowned performer and lecturer Michael Ballam introduces you to the music of Strauss, Rachmaninov, Grieg, Sibelius, Debussy, Fauré, Vaughan-Williams, Stravinsky, Shoenberg, and Berg. Explore our age filled with creativity and change. Gain tools to select from this century music that will uplift and enlighten.

In this fourth in a series of User Friendly Classics, you will come to appreciate through the perspective eyes of Dr. Ballam the best music of the 20th Century has to offer. Holding a Ph.D. in music history and literature from prestigious Indiana University, Michael Ballam has an enthusiastic love for music which is contagious to those of all ages.

Includes musical examples from:

  • Strauss songs
  • Rachmaninov’s “Piano Concerto #2” and “Theme of Paganini”
  • Grieg’s “Piano Concerto #1”
  • Solvij’s Song from “Peer Gynt”
  • Sibelius’ “Finlandia”
  • selected Debussy and Fauré songs
  • Debussy’s “Claire de Lune”
  • Stravinsky’s “Rite of Spring” and “Firebird”
Songs Include:
  1. Piano Concerto #2  
  2. Theme of Paganini  
  3. Piano Concerto #1  
  4. Peer Gynt  
  5. Finlandia  
  6. Claire de Lune  
  7. Rite of Spring  
  8. Firebird  

© Phoenix Productions