Home > Store > User Friendly Classics: Classical
Jun 14, 2024 1:40:52 PM
User Friendly Classics: Classical [Tape]
View Cart
  • Price:  $14.95 $2.25 (85% Off)
  • Tape (2 Audio Cassettes)
  • Year Released: 1992
  • Content: Music and Lecture
  • Only Available at MichaelBallam.com

Discover the exquisite form and grace of the Classical era guided by the world-renowned performer and lecturer Michael Ballam. He will acquaint you and your family with the masterworks of the Age of Order in music. Understand why science and medicine view Classical music as a healing agent which enhances physical and mental health. In this second in a series of User Friendly Classics, you will discover the splendor of Mozart, Haydn, and the young Beethoven through the perceptive eyes of Dr. Ballam. Holding a PhD in music history and literature from the prestigiousIndiana University, Michael Ballam has an enthusiastic love for music which is contagious tot listeners of all ages.

Includes musical examples from:

  • Mozart’s Piano Concerto #21 in C Major
  • Don Giovanni
  • Magic Flute
  • Symphony #40 in G Minor
  • Haydn’s Creation
  • Symphony in G Major (Surprise)
  • Beethoven’s Fifth Symphony in C Minor

Michael Ballam is a nationally acclaimed opera singer, a sought-after lecturer, and a professor of music at Utah State University.

In an amazing repertoire that includes over 80 major roles, his voice has been described as “splendid” by the Washington Post, “commanding” by the Chicago Tribune, and “superb” by the Philadelphia Inquirer.

An insatiable musician, he is an extraordinary pianist and accomplished oboist. Today Dr. Ballam has already participated in three operatic world premieres, including Krysztof Penderecki’s Paradise Lost, and the Lyric Opera of Chicago. Dr. Ballam made his debut with the San Francisco Opera in Elektra, sharing the stage with Monserrat Cabelle, Kiri Te Kanawa, and Brigit Nilsson. He also appeared in the international telecast of Samson and Delilah with Shirley Verret.

He has performed regularly with the Pennsylvania Opera Theatre, Kentucky Opera, Philadelphia Opera, Opera Theatre of St. Louis, Michigan Opera Theatre, and the Mississippi Opera.

Songs Include:
  1. Piano Concerto #21 in C Major  
  2. Unknown  
  3. Unknown  
  4. Symphony #40 in G Minor  
  5. Creation  
  6. Symphony in G Major (Surprise)  
  7. Fifth Symphony in C Minor  

© Phoenix Productions